Monday, September 03, 2007

Thank you for the 2007 World Championship 24 Hour Solo Race at Laguna Seca

Just a quick note to say thank you to my family, friends, sponsors, fans, and everyone that came out to the 24 Hour Solo World Championship mountain bike race at Laguna Seca this past weekend. Especially want to thank Cannondale for the bikes - the Taurine and the brand new 2008 Carbon Scapel, Kenda for the perfect tires, Cytomax for the nutrition and energy drinks, Tifosi Optics for the eyewear, Niterider for lighting up the night, and the rest of my awesome sponsors. I couldn't have won it without your support!

I'm working on a post-race story but right now I'm heading over to a friend's house for a Labor Day BBQ to wish his son off since he's heading to Iraq. Here are a few photos and a link to the story.

Thanks everyone!!


Rusch and Juarez win in brutal conditions story By Sue George

Tinker Juarez and Rebecca Rusch won the 24 Hours of Adrenaline World Solo Championship in Monterey, California, this weekend. Juarez rode with Kelly Magelky for 21 hours and then attacked him for the win. Nat Ross, Ernesto Marenchin, and Mark Hendershot took third through fifth spots. Last year's second place Rusch, on the other hand, won by a larger margin of two laps in the women's race. Lynda Wallenfels and Sally Marchand Collins finished second and third.

Santa Cruz Syndicate's Hendershot commented on the challenging conditions. "It was a brutal race, over 100 degrees. Four of the top ten guys were pulled off the course by medics."

Both defending champions, Craig Gordon and Sue Haywood, and last year's runner-up Chris Eatough were absent from the event. The latter two chose to compete at the Shenandoah Mountain 100, the National Ultra Endurance Series final, in Virginia.
In a bizarre finish to the event, a brush fire burned up the Sea Otter downhill course just as the race was ending.

Elite - Male
1 Tinker Juarez (USA) 19 laps
2 Kelly Magelky (USA) 19
3 Nat Ross (USA) 18
4 Ernesto Marenchin (USA) 18
5 Mark Hendershot (USA) 18
6 John Waddell (Aus) 17
7 Steve Schwarz (USA) 17
8 Ian Leitch (GBr) 17
9 Chad Swanson (USA) 16
10 Leighton Poidevin (Can) 16


Dan said...

Congrats Tinker! You deserve if for sure. We missed you this year at Seven Springs. Much better conditions than last year. Pretty much perfect weather for racing on the right coast this year. I understand wanting to win there than at Seven Springs.

Again Congrats on a well deserved win for a class act!

Dan Gerous said...

Congratulations Tinker! Not that I ask you do but... will you ever slow down? :)

Keep it up, you are a great ambassador for the sport and seeing you ride like you do makes me want to go racing, I'm still young, only 32!

Dave Harris said...

Awesome job Tinker. You & Kelly were haulin' the mail for 20+ hours, but you always looked so comfy and in control as you flew by.

Your 18th lap is among the most impressive things I've witnessed on a bike. Seriously.

It was great to catch up with you & Terri & meet Joshua.

Congrats again on a most inspiring ride.